Hammered, Nailed & Screwed – novel by Kathleen (Settle) Hering

In addition to being a sew-er and quilter, I’m also an avid reader. Although I used to read a variety of types (romance, crime, mysteries, etc – nothing too deep though), now I only read mysteries. And the mysteries I read usually involve lady P.I.’s (or at least women who like to solve mysteries) and a lot of humor.

I purchase all my Kindle books through Amazon, so I always have a lot of books ready to read. Although I’m sort of embarrassed to say so, I choose my mysteries based on the (cutsie) titles and the picture on the book.

So, when I ran across this title – Hammered, Nailed & Screwed by Kathleen Hering – I knew I had to read it! It was such a catchy title! And it turned out that it was a catchy book! I read it in about a day and a half; pretty good considering a lot of sewing got done too!

Hammered, Nailed and Screwed

I love a book that’s hard to put down! Ms. Hering’s main character, Laura Howard, suffered greatly when her husband was killed, only to discover that maybe things weren’t as they seemed! Laura, and all the characters, were lively and articulate, keeping the pace moving and interesting. And even better it took place in Portland, Oregon!!! I loved reading about places in Portland and surrounding areas that I’m familiar with! And she gives interior decorating tips!!

I don’t want to give away any of the plot, so won’t go into any details. Just let me say that I can’t wait until Ms. Hering’s  next book is published.  I sure hope she’s busy working on it!

5 thoughts on “Hammered, Nailed & Screwed – novel by Kathleen (Settle) Hering

  1. I found your review online tonight, and I am thrilled with your reaction to the mystery novel Hammered, Nailed and Screwed. ( And, here I thought I was the only one who selected books by the cover art and the title!) The positive reviews of HNS have been a wonderful surprise. For so long, the book was a project I was working on in the corner of the kitchen — with no idea how it would be received by readers. Thank you for your kind words of support.

    With appreciation, Kathleen Hering
    (Almost forgot! The sequel is in the works. I can’t predict when it’ll be out, but I’m typing away.)

    • Since we’ve been friends since junior high, I am excited for you in your venture to write a book. I am an avid reader and your book “Hammered, Nailed and Screwed” is one of my favorite mysteries. I love the combination of mystery and romance. It is a woman’s kind of book. I am anxiously looking forward to reading your sequel. Keep on writing. You have what it takes.

      • Hi, Sharon! How nice to see you pop into my life again. The sequel to Hammered, Nailed and Screwed is on the way. I’m writing/typing as fast as I can! I’m hoping to have it finished by late summer. Same characters, different mystery. (By the way, how did you find HNS? This website? An ad? A review?) Kathy

  2. Hello, again, “Nanablog Founder,”
    Ripped, Stripped and Flipped, the sequel to Hammered, Nailed and Screwed, is now available. Are you comfortable sending me your mailing address to my e-mail address? If so, I would like to send you a complilmentary copy of RSF in mid December as a thank you for promoting the first book with your fine review. Both books are also now available on Amazon.com. in paperback and Kindle formats.
    Kathleen Hering (email address: Designermysteries@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

