Organizing the Fabric Stash

As you know, we recently relocated from Oregon.  Of course, I brought along ALL my sewing equipment, fabric and miscellaneous tons of related ‘stuff’!  When we moved into our house, I set up my sewing studio quickly in order to continue sewing for our business, She and Me Designs.

Unfortunately, my fabric stash started creeping out of its boxes and redistributing itself all over every surface of my studio!  Within minutes, it took over!!!

Sewing room cleanup

Although I’m definitely not a ‘neatnik’, I also can’t stay focused when everything is too disorganized and messy (it’s a fine line, I know).  It was time to corral all the stuff and get it into a place where it belonged and I could see what I had.  Hence, a trip to Target.  We got SO lucky –

Target had bookshelves on sale last week, and I took several of the short (on sale for $16!) and several tall (on sale for $26!) basic white bookshelves.  The short ones fit perfectly against a short stair wall, and the talls ones work perfectly on the opposite wall!   SCORE!!!   I’ll probably add a couple more short ones at a later date, but for now this is perfect!

Target Bookcase    Target bookcase

As you can see below, I’m totally organized now.  I’m sure as projects get going things will start creeping out again, but at least now I have a place to put it all back and get it under control again.  That’s what it’s all about – controlling the mess so you can be free to be creative!!!!!

I love that my fabric is now organized – here’s a look at the rest of the room!

What have you done lately to help yourself be organized?  I’d love to hear about your projects.

Leave a Reply

